Thoughts for Next Year

81,674 Views | 318 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by sfa17
TallTexan
How long do you want to ignore this user?
SFA_03 said:

BigJack85 said:

PurpleOut said:

Remember we get LaTech at home next year. Our scheduling is much better than it was when I was a student in the Kaspar days. I think we need to keep getting the bigger Mid-Major matchups like we have with LaTech and UAB. Like UTA, ULL, Little Rock, SMU, etc. The problem those is that even if those are going to be really big and good games, the majority of our fan base won't know the difference.

As well as work on our relationship with the community and overall East Texas area. What would it take to improve the airport outside of Nac to get smaller planes in for better travel options?

I believe the city has applied for a federal grant to update/upgrade the old airport. It was not deemed necessary. That was years ago. What I don't understand is why there is a facility between lufkin and Diboll. If it was between Lufkin and Nacogdoches it would get three times the use and potentially justify two or three flights a week.

I think having a small commercial airport like they have in Tyler in between Nac and Lufkin would be amazing for the growth of Nacogdoches as well as being that little bit of an extra push to get more consistent strong opponents to come play us.
I've been curious why Lufkin and Nac together don't justify their own small commercial airport. It doesn't have quite the population of Tyler area, but between the two we've should have enough for a small regional.
SFASawmillGuy
TallTexan said:

SFA_03 said:

BigJack85 said:

PurpleOut said: