Student Support

32,913 Views | 177 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by TallTexan
PurpleOut
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Staff
SFA_03 said:

When I was a student I had a lot of friends in different fraternities and other organizations. The consensus was a combination of them thinking our teams suck even though they have no idea what the record is or how we've been playing and them not caring about who we play. They don't care about SLC opponents(except for Sam Houston) or the D2 and D3 schools we are forced to host.
Most of them seem to want us to host a team like Duke and UNC at home consistently in basketball and Alabama and UT in football. It's the idea that if you can't beat the absolute best in the sport that you are trash, and unfortunately that's an idea a lot of our fans share.
Yep, unfortunately this is a big part of our problem. I constantly hear from new students that say they were told the sports suck...so they don't bother. Not only do they hear it from other students, but as mentioned, they also hear it from our faculty.
TallTexan
I hate when I hear "we should play Texas at home". It's a completely unrealistic expectation. Those folks would be unhappy if we got a Mountain West invite.

I had a few friends my first year who thought we hadn't won a football game in like 3 years, despite the fact we were in the middle of Jeremy Moses & co. That was prior to a lot of social media, so it's a little easier to avoid the results, but come on man.

Really think a "professor of the week" would be a great way to get faculty involved & out to the games. Merge the academics & athletics & build some good will.
PurpleOut
Staff
That's another thing about moving to a new conference, when it comes to attendance. Let's say we move to Conference USA, playing the likes of LaTech, UNT, UAB, WKU would be a huge step up athletically. But do you think even the average SFA student/fan will care about playing Middle Tennessee? The answer is no.
TallTexan
PurpleOut said: