Why don't we have a better "Lumberjack Club?"

8,859 Views | 23 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by ACUCattitude
PurpleOut
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Staff
I've talked to several friends from different schools recently, and have mentioned here before our lack of fund raising and such when it comes to athletics. Why don't we have an athletics donor club like everyone else? I remember we had something a long time ago, but now all I see is the ability to generically donate to the school and select athletics in a list of options.

Since I graduated in 2006, I have never been contacted to become a donor, or even just to generically donate to the athletic department. This is mind boggling to me. You can search for any school and quickly find their "donor club" options, with different perks and such. Below I found in minutes, with easy to find links from their home page.

Lamar's Cardinal Club
Sam Houston's Championship Fund
Texas State's Bobcat Fund
Nicholls State's Athletic Association

Am I the only one that finds this hard to believe? Seriously look at the options Nicholls State has and the perks that come with it.
nacluth
What SFA has is the SFA Varsity Club. It has different levels and different perks, but it definitely doesn't get promoted as much as it should. That link above will take you too the brochure for it. I've almost signed up for the Varsity level to get two season tickets and the special parking, but after trying to spend money sponsoring this website, my wife was less than thrilled with my idea to join the club.
Ryan
Kinnaird Guitars
PurpleOut
Staff
Yeah that's it, but I still don't even see how you can come across that page. And never seen it promoted.

And that's actually been nicely updated. But how would anyone know?
nacluth
I've only come across it in my wife's Alumni magazines. There needs to be some way to promote it better. Maybe Isaac can get some marketing money to promote it on his site.
Ryan
Kinnaird Guitars
SFA Jack Fanatic